NBA Champions and Point Guards Pt. 1

Ok this is going to be a long list. For now I’m going back to 1990. But eventually I’ll get all the way back to the 1946-1947 season, before the NBA was even called the NBA. Back before the original ABA folded (not the one semi-pro one that has been running since 2000). This is a list of every NBA championship team ever, and their point guards to match. We’ll start with Last years Miami Heat. Their point guard was, and still is, Mario Chalmers. 9.8 points per game and 3.5 assists.

2011 Dallas Mavericks: Jason Kidd. At this point, Jason Kidd was too old to be an all-star. A shell of his former self. Still averaged 7.9 ppg and 8.2 assists with 1.7 steals though.

2010 Los Angeles Lakers: Derek Fisher 7.5 ppg and 2.5 assists.

2009 Los Angeles Lakers: Derek Fisher 9.9 ppg and 3.2 assists.

2008 Boston Celtics: Rajon Rondo. This was before Rondo broke out as a star. He was just averaging 10.6 points and 5.1 assists.

2007 San Antonio Spurs: Tony Parker. Finally an All Star caliber point guard. In fact Parker was the Finals MVP. He averaged 18.6 points and 5.5 assists.

2006 Miami Heat: Steve Nash was busy winning his second MVP award in a row but his team didn’t make the finals. Jason Williams was the Heat’s point guard. He was a promising talent originally but never quite filled his potential. He averaged 12.3 points and 4.9 assists.

2005 San Antonio Spurs: Tony Parker again. 16.6 points and 6.1 assists.

2004 Detroit Pistons: Finally a team that was indisputably led by it’s all-star point guard. How else do you describe this team of misfits? Chauncey Billups was the only player from this team worthy of becoming an all star at any point in his career. And before he got to Detroit, he himself was a misfit. No one wanted this guy. He was too much drama for even the team that had too deal with Allen Iverson and Carmelo Anthony. Still, he averaged 16.9 points and 5.7 assists.

2003 San Antonio Spurs (again):  Tony Parker in his 2nd year in the league. He averaged 15.5 points and 5.3 assists.

Have you noticed that none of these point guards, even the all-star caliber worthy ones, get over 10 assists? Through ten championship teams, the best point guards have been Chauncey Billups, Tony Parker, Jason Kidd well out of his prime and Rajon Rondo well before his prime. Billups and Parker were at their peak but they were both more of scoring point guards rather than pass first.

2002 Los Angeles Lakers: This is a split between Derek Fisher and Lindsey Hunter. Hunter started more games and averaged 5.8 points and 1.6 assists.

2001 Los Angeles Lakers: Fisher was injured most of this season but he was otherwise the starting point guard. He averaged 11.2 points and 2.2 assists. Ron Harper also started averaging 6.5 points and 2.5 assists.

2000 Los Angeles Lakers (this is the reason everyone hates them): Ron Harper was the starter. He averaged 7 points and 3.4 assists.

1999: San Antonio Spurs: Avery Johnson. He averaged 9.7 points and 7.4 assists.

1998: Chicago Bulls:  Ron Harper was the starter. He averaged 9.3 points and 2.9 assists. On a side note, besides the 1989-1990 season, Michael Jordan won every championship of the 1990’s when he wasn’t retired. When he wasn’t in the NBA (instead playing baseball) the championship was up for grabs. Also, from 1996-1998, the second place teams always had a premier point guard. Beat out John Stockton.

1997 Chicago Bulls: Ron Harper (by the way, Harper was a shooting guard primarily and a point guard secondarily). He averaged 9.9 points and 4 assists. Beat out John Stockton.

1996 Chicago Bulls: Ron Harper: 11.3 points and 4 assists. Beat out Gary Payton.

1995 Houston Rockets: in 1994 and 1995 the Rockets seized their chance with Michael Jordan gone. Kenny Smith started. He averaged 10.4 points and 4 assists.

1994 Houston Rockets: Kenny Smith. He averaged 11.6 points and 4.2 assists.

1993 Chicago Bulls: B.J. Armstrong. 12.3 points and 4 assists.

1992 Chicago Bulls: John Paxson with B.J. Armstrong playing significant minutes. Paxson averaged 7 points and 3.1 assists. Armstrong averaged 9.9 points and 3.2 assists.

1991 Chicago Bulls: John Paxson started with B.J. Armstrong playing significant minutes. Paxson averaged 8.7 points and 3.6 assists. Armstrong averaged 8.8 points and 3.7 assists.

1990 Detroit Pistons: Isaiah Thomas. Hall of Famer. 18.4 points and 9.4 assists along with 1.7 steals.

This is the end of part one. So far there has been one Hall of Famer, Isaiah Thomas, one for sure future Hall of Famer, Jason Kidd, and two players that might end up in the Hall of Fame. Tony Parker could end up there purely for paving the road for future European point guards into the NBA. Rajon Rondo is currently the best pure point guard in the game right now. But neither Kidd nor Rondo were in their primes when they won the championship.

Part two coming soon…


2 thoughts on “NBA Champions and Point Guards Pt. 1

  1. Pingback: NBA Champions and Point Guards Pt. 3 | Stats and Facts Sports

  2. Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up
    too. This sort of clever work and exposure! Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s